Atlanta Shows Up To Lean Into It – ‘The BIG Finish’ with Mr. Big 

By Carrianne Stoker-Postier

Atlanta, GA – Even a chilly (for the South), weekday night would not deter this BIG crowd from forming a line down the sidewalk while waiting on the Variety Playhouse doors to open for an evening celebration of Mr. Big’s “The Big Finish” tour. The audience was geared up for a legacy performance bursting with a bittersweet flavor only a final tour could bring.  

Mr. Big’s lineup includes original members Eric Martin (vocals), Paul Gilbert (guitar) and Billy Sheehan (bass), with Nick D’Virgilio joining on drums. The band’s original drummer, Pat Torpey, passed away due to complications of Parkinson’s disease in 2018, although his presence could be felt intertwined through the band’s over 35 years existence.

Showcasing heavy harmonies and deep running collaboration on stage, the band members also demonstrated their own individual and masterful talent. The setlist not only delivered a blend of classic favorites and hit covers, it featured a start to finish run-through of the 1991 album Lean Into It and some encore surprises.

Full article and  more pictures:

Happy 28th Anniversary to Mr Big's "Hey Man"! 

Hey Man is the fourth studio album by the hard rock band, Mr. Big. It would be their last album with guitarist Paul Gilbert until 2011's What If.... The album was the most successful Mr. Big release in Japan, topping the Japanese Oricon chart, where it remained for 16 weeks.

Track listing:

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Trapped in Toyland" Paul Gilbert, Jeff Martin, Russ Parrish 4:24
2. "Take Cover" Eric Martin, Gilbert, André Pessis 4:38
3. "Jane Doe" Gilbert, Billy Sheehan, Pat Torpey 3:36
4. "Goin' Where the Wind Blows" E. Martin, Pessis 4:19
5. "The Chain" E. Martin, Pessis 3:46
6. "Where Do I Fit In?" E. Martin, Gilbert, Pessis 4:22
7. "If That's What It Takes" E. Martin, Sheehan, Torpey, Pessis, Tony Fanucchi 4:47
8. "Out of the Underground" Gilbert 4:05
9. "Dancin' Right into the Flame" E. Martin, Sheehan, Pessis 3:02
10. "Mama D." Gilbert 4:32
11. "Fool Us Today" E. Martin, Sheehan, Torpey 4:23


How Mr Big conquered record company indifference with To Be With You, the song that transformed their lives 

A ballad written by teenager Eric Martin to impress a girl he'd fallen for gave his band their biggest hit, topped charts around the world, and became their calling-card.

Mr. Big’s calling card To Be With You was something of an afterthought. It was the second single lifted off their second album, 1991’s Lean Into It, and the lack of success of its first single, Green-Tinted Sixties Mind – which failed to chart anywhere except the UK, where it reached No.72 – hardly augured well for the follow-up.

In fact, according to bassist Billy Sheehan, the band’s label, Atlantic, weren’t keen on releasing To Be With You, refusing to believe it would provide the band with their first hit, and agreed to do so only after radio started playing it.

“We didn’t find out until later that they didn’t like the record, they didn’t like our songs and they didn’t like band,” he says. “They had all but given up on us. We battled them from the beginning over it.”

For original full article click here:

EM Mailing List